Restaurant Review: Mi-Ramen Bistrot

After begging and pleading (not exactly, but almost) that we go out for ramen, Alessandro finally caved to my request. “Why do we have to go out to eat a stupid soup?“, was the question I tried to answer for him many times to no avail. Nevertheless, one rainy Friday night, we headed to Mi-Ramen Bistrot for some Japanese goodness. The meal fit the weather perfectly and satisfied me more than I could’ve ever expected.

Appetizers

We started with one order each of Gyoza and Vegan Gyoza. The meat-gyoza was filled with chicken, onions, and cabbage, among other ingredients. They were quite tasty, but not exactly the best dumpling I’d ever had in my life.

mi-ramen bistrot
Gyoza

The vegan version had tofu, cabbage, mushrooms, and onions inside. They were more dry than the original version and a lot less flavorful. However, there was something about their plainness that I found very refreshing. It was obvious that the ingredients were ridiculously fresh, which made the otherwise bland plate very enjoyable.

mi-ramen bistrot
Vegan Gyoza

Ramen

I ordered the shoyu ramen, which had a soy sauce base and shrimp “meatballs” that were essentially lightly-fried shrimp dumplings. Other ingredients included seaweed, bamboo, onions, egg, and of course, noodles. This ramen was to die for. I’m not exactly an expert of Asian cuisine, but I’ve had enough soup-based dishes from the East to know that some are better than others. This ramen takes the cake for me. It was incredibly fresh, not the slightest bit salty, and oh-so tasty. I couldn’t want anything more from a dish of ramen.

mj-ramen bistrot
Shoyu Ramen

Alessandro opted for the deluxe spicy miso ramen. His had beef broth base with roast pork, tofu, egg, onions, bamboo, seaweed, and noodles (For those unfamiliar with miso, or ramen in general, click here). I sampled a bite and thought it was absolutely delicious. The broth was incredibly flavorful, with a hint of spice, and not at all overly salty.

mi-ramen bistrot
Deluxe Spicy Miso Ramen

Dessert

The peculiarity of the green tea tiramisù intrigued me, so I decided to try it. I was not at all disappointed. While definitely sweeter and more dense than traditional tiramisù, it was absolutely delightful. It was also topped with matcha power, which instantly made me feel healthy and hip. Definitely a must-try!

Overall Impressions:

  • Authentic (as far as I’m concerned) and super fresh
  • Casual, quick, and inexpensive
  • One of the better foreign-cuisine options in a city filled with them

The Verdict:

4-5_starrating

Leave a Reply

