Mulling Over Mulberry

While I was passing time like I often do (you know, browsing luxury goods online), I found myself on Mulberry‘s website, where I was blown away by what I encountered. I had only ever thought of the iconic British label as one thing: frumpy. However, their recent collections are anything but.

Let’s start with my personal favorite: the bags. Many know Mulberry for its signature Bayswater tote, pictured below. While a practical and timeless, this purse is a far cry from fashion-forward. I can understand the appeal that would lead one to buy it, but it’s no statement piece.

bayswater
Bayswater

Now let’s take a look at some of the more intriguing pieces the label is using to reinvent itself with: namely, the Chester, Hopton, and Selwood. Upon first glance, one brand comes to mind immediately: Céline. These updated designs rival the craftsmanship of the French powerhouse, featuring sleek lines and bold colors that are anything but boring.

chester
Chester
hopton
Hopton
selwood
Selwood

Getting excited after seeing these beauties, I had to know what else the label had in store for this season. It’s website describes the Summer ’17 collection, as a “new take on Britishness”, a phrase that embodies the spirit of these clothes perfectly. They’re certainly smart, but youthful and whimsical at the same time. Check out some of my favorites below.

The ready-to-wear is equally fabulous and stark deviation from frumpy. Moral of the story is, the right market research and creative team can take any brand from not to haute.

Leave a Reply

