Restaurant Review: Boqueria

There’s no shortage of brunch options in Manhattan. Being there during my birthday, I opted for a boozy brunch option should I want to keep the party going after a Saturday night out. Though I didn’t indulge in the unlimited sangria, I still enjoyed a fine final meal in the city with my girlfriends.

With locations in Flatiron, SoHo, and the Upper East Side, Boqueria offers classic Spanish tapas and mains in a lively setting. I found that while it’s not necessarily bad, there’s nothing particularly memorable about this restaurant.

Tapas

Having worked up an appetite, we decided to order a tapas in addition to our mains. Our escalivada consisted of roasted eggplant and red pepper, onion, yogurt, herbs, and olive oil, with house-made flatbread.

The dish was tasty, but nothing to write home about. I found the flavors to be ultra-familiar and lackluster. However, I will commend the cool yogurt sauce as being a great complement to the earthy vegetables.

Paella

I was originally intrigued in Boqueria for the brunch paella on its menu. Honestly, how could you not be? Despite my self-induced hype around the paella, it was not at all standout.

This version featured roasted chicken, pork belly, charred peppers, kale, and eggs (let it be known, I found no kale in our serving). It had decent flavor but the rice was painfully dry. I also didn’t understand how lemon juice was supposed to enhance the dish. I definitely expected more.

Churros

The churros were by far the best thing we ate at this meal. They were filled with Dulce de Leche, a sort of caramel-flavored butterscotch. Other churros I’ve tasted are more cakey, yet these were airy and crunchy. My best comparison is a friend donut.

The Dulce de Leche was decadent and smooth. While insanely sweet for some, and likely inauthentic,  I thought these churros were righteous.

img_8555

Overall Impressions:

  • Average Spanish cuisine in a buzzy atmosphere
  • Extensive brunch menu
  • Affordable for Manhattan standards

The Verdict:

download-18

 

Leave a Reply

